Psalm 11:3

A Concerned Christian Website

  • Blog Stats

    • 109,547 hits

The nature of wolves

Posted by nazarenepsalm113 on January 18, 2009

Originally I was going to name this article “My Day with Greg Horton at the parish” but after a week , I am looking at a much bigger picture. Plus ,I need to say that guys like Greg really get under my skin and I was wrong to get in the flesh the way I did at his blog. And I apologize for that . Sometimes my own sinful nature gets the best of me and that does not honor Christ.

I want to take a look at not only what Greg stated on his blog, but what others commented on as well. Plus , there was some inaccurate information put out in the comments section that I wanted to clear up and clarify . First , let ‘ s look at the nature of wolves
Here is a story from Wikipedia. Most of us have heard this one before. The Scorpion and the Frog is a fable of unknown author, thought often mis-attributed to Aesop.[1] The story is about a scorpion asking a frog to carry him across a river. The frog is afraid of being stung, but the scorpion reassures him that if it stung the frog, the frog would sink and the scorpion would drown as well. The frog then agrees; nevertheless, in mid-river, the scorpion stings him, dooming the two of them. When asked why, the scorpion explains, “I’m a scorpion; it’s my nature.” The story is sometimes told with a turtle or fox in place of the frog. It is often quoted to illustrate the purportedly insuppressible nature of one’s self at its base level.”
End of story.
I think this is a good illustration that could be applied to wolves in sheep clothing within the Body of Christ. What does God ‘ s Word state on what and who wolves are? Let ‘ s take a look. Jesus Christ Himself warned believers to watch out for “wolves” – a warning that included a warning to the wolves themselves of the fate that awaits them if they don’t repent of their evil: Jesus assured us that we will know them by their fruits.
Matt 7:15-23

15 “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves. 16 You will know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes from thornbushes or figs from thistles? 17 Even so, every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. 18 A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a bad tree bear good fruit. 19 Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. 20 Therefore by their fruits you will know them. I Never Knew You 21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness! ” The apostle Paul also warned us about wolves that would come from among us here in scripture.

Acts 20:27-30 27 ” For I have not shunned to declare to you the whole counsel of God. 28 Therefore take heed to yourselves and to all the flock, among which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to shepherd the church of God[a] which He purchased with His own blood. 29 For I know this, that after my departure savage wolves will come in among you, not sparing the flock. 30 Also from among yourselves men will rise up, speaking perverse things, to draw away the disciples after themselves. ”

That verse also cautions overseers such as men like Jesse and Jon Middendorf , as well as the rest of the leadership in the Nazarene denomination , to guard the flock against false teaching. Are they doing this? In my opinion , I would say no because of the influx of the Emergent Church into the Nazarene denomination. You will have to make your own decision on what you think the Nazarene denomination leadership is up to as far as the Emergent Church is concerned. I would think the fruit speaks for itself. Now why would I think that Greg Horton is a wolf in sheeps clothing?
From Greg Hortons bio on Wired Parish alongside Len Sweet and Brian McLaren http://wiredparish.com/category.php?c_id=9 “Greg Horton is a freelance writer and adjunct professor in Oklahoma City. He teaches Bible and ethics in the adult studies program at Southern Nazarene University and ethics at Oklahoma City Community College.”

I guess Greg no longer works at Southern Nazarene University. From Gregs blog “the parish” – “It has created a crisis in the Nazarene Church, created stress for my friends in that church, got me fired from Southern Nazarene University, earned me some harsh criticism from Christians and the non-Christian who runs sliceoflaodicea.com, cost me some money with a wire service I write for, and allowed me to flesh out many, many thoughts.”
I am not linking to Gregs blog in this article because he uses really dirty language but you can’t be on that blog for five minutes and not come to the conclusion that Greg is not a believer. Here are some of his own quotes from that blog. “Another kind-hearted but poorly educated gentleman asked me if I believed in God—I had just disavowed belief in prayer, so he asked a good follow-up, I thought. I tried to get him to clarify what he meant by the question, the result of which was that he was asking if I believe Jesus is my savior/god/forgiver. No, I said. So you think we came from monkeys? sigh…” It’s one of the reasons I had to leave the faith. What Jesus says makes so much sense if there is an eschatological reckoning. But my inability to imagine an eschatological reality that incorporated justice, freedom, eternity, and humanity made it impossible for me to believe that Jesus’ teaching makes sense.
” So , Greg taught Bible and ethics at A Nazarene college?
If that doesnt scare you , you really need to check your walk. Is there hope for Greg? You bet there is. Peter denied Jesus three times and still turned out pretty good.
We need to pray for Greg and other deceived teachers like him. None the less , we still need to warn the flock as well. There are a lot of wolves out there as well as in a lot of Christian colleges and seminaries. Those are my thoughts on Greg .

Now on to some comments from a recent article on Gregs blog. A comment pertaining to Greg- “I am a better Christian for our friendship despite Tim’s misgivings.” End of comment.

This person is a better Christian because of Greg Horton? I would really like this person to expound on that comment.
Another comment- ” I am part of the Kaleo community at OKC1stNaz, and we have been attacked from the start (Which only makes me feel like we are probably doing Jesus stuff. People seem to get uncomfortable with that). ” End of comment-

I ask when are we called to do Jesus stuff? And why dont you get why people are uncomfortable with statements like that?
Another comment from the same person. “Again, you are not even Nazarene. Why are you attacking my denomination, my church and my pastor? Why are you attacking and molesting us like a predator?” End of comment.
I am a member of the Body of Christ and I do have a right and choice to point out error. I am not attacking anyone but error in teaching.
Another comment-
Fact: ” Jon has reached out to you to invite you to speak with him at any time, any place. He has even offered to speak at your church. Your response? Nothing, absolutely nothing. Silence. Like the dark side of the moon. Cold, dark, nothing. ”

Fact: ” Jesse has repeatedly attempted to contact you by email, phone and other means. ” Fact: ” You have not responded directly to him or Jon–ever.
” Fact: “You continue to call each of them out in a public forum, yet you have yet to approach either of them as the scriptures to which you subscribe require.” End of comments.

The actual facts here are this : both men have emailed me and I did respond to both politely through email’s back to them. They were also invited to respond to me in public on any of my blogs. Both men have refused to do so which is of course there choice. So the actual facts here is that
I have responded to both gentlemen. Jesse Midenddorf has only attempted to contact me through 1 (one) email which he asked me not to share with anyone publicly. Which I found a bit strange since Jesse himself cc the email to three other individuals. I have honored the request that Jesse’s email would not be shared publicly. He has never called me on the phone or contacted me through my church or any other means.
Jon Middendorf in his email did not offer to speak at my church so I’m not sure where that is coming from. I would certainly not encourage my pastor to have Jon speak at our church though because of Jon’s extreme lack of discernment concerning the Emergent Church and its teachings. That ‘ s the real fact about the above statement. I ‘ m not angry about that as well. Its everyone’s individual choice on how they choose to respond. Since this is a very public (not private) matter we will do it out in the public or not at all , as far as I ‘ m concerned.
Now as far as scripture is concerned regarding this , most people fail to realize that Matthew 18:15-17 clearly deals with private (not public) sin committed by one brother or sister in the Body against another. We read: “Moreover, if thy brother shall trespass against thee…” (KJV). All translations agree that the subject is sin or trespass, not false teaching.
Now as far as the DVD Im involved with is concerned. This will be solid biblically based information on the error and danger of the Emergent church. Yes , names will be mentioned concerning this because of its relevance. But it ‘ s not so much about the names but the teaching connected to the names. We are giving this out for free not because of a fear that no one would buy it. It’s not about the money or making a profit or recovering any money spent. It’s about getting information out to those who want it. We all have choices. You can choose not to read this blog. And hey that s ok with me for that’s your choice. You also have the choice to follow Emergent teachers and their teaching. That ‘ s your choice. We just want pastors and lay people to be made aware of the false teaching in the Emergent church and movement and how it has all but overrun the Nazarene denomination through a serious lack of discernment on the part of the leadership. If you disagree with us , that ‘ s fine. Don ‘ t get the DVD. Meanwhile , there is a huge network of pastors and lay people within the Nazarene denomination, as well as the Body of Christ , who want this DVD. We will get this to them at no charge to them. As for the true nature of wolves , the only way you will be able to discern between a wolf in sheeps clothing is not by reading this blog but by the study of God’s Word in the Bible. Then you will be able to discern truth from the counterfeit teachings that have made it’s way into the Nazarene denomination and the Body of Christ.
From wikpedia-A counterfeit is an imitation (ie, a fake) made usually with the intent to deceptively represent its content or origins, thus increasing sales appeal due to the reputation of the imitated product.
We need to always remember this. 2 Cor 11:13-15 , 13 For such are false apostles, deceitful workers, transforming themselves into apostles of Christ. 14 And no wonder! For Satan himself transforms himself into an angel of light. 15 Therefore it is no great thing if his ministers also transform themselves into ministers of righteousness, whose end will be according to their works.”
Only through reading God’s Word in scripture will you be able to discern who this pertains to. Peace and Blessings , Tim

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
