Psalm 11:3

A Concerned Christian Website

  • Blog Stats

    • 109,543 hits

The future of the Nazarene Denomination?

Posted by nazarenepsalm113 on March 8, 2010

Pastor Rick Headley sent me this, which he had sent to Jerry Porter. This is the church that left the denomination:

Dear Rev. Porter:
On May 5, 2000 after 10 long years of studying and working to finish my studies and complete necessary service time, you ordained me as an Elder in the Church of the Nazarene. At the altar of Grove City Church of the Nazarene you looked me in the eyes and charged me to be faithful to the Word of God and its ministry. You then placed your hand upon my head as I knelt at the altar and you prayed that God would help me carry out the charge that you had given me. I took that charge seriously Rev. Porter. I have faithfully attended to this charge as a local pastor for a total of 20 years.

I have been disheartened to see our great denomination travel a very slippery slope as it has allowed emergent thinkers to infiltrate our educational institutions, publishing house, and our districts. The heart of this movement is an open denial of the inerrancy and relevancy of God’s Word. The very Word of God that you charged me to be faithful to. I have waited for you and the General Board to refute the leaders of this movement in our denomination and reaffirm the Church of the Nazarenes commitment to scripture. The General Board’s silence on this issue has been deafening.

Rev. Porter I am conflicted by the idea that you charged me to be faithful to God’s Word and its ministry and yet you choose to be silent as well known Church of the Nazarene leaders such as John Middendorf, Dan Boone and others use their influence to propagate the emergent ideology. I am compelled to believe that the silence of the General Board on this issue is communicating an acceptance through tolerance.

“How much further will they go?” was the question that was asked by the great preacher C.H. Spurgeon in his magazine “Sword and Trowel” in August 1887. He asked this of the Baptist Denomination – a movement that he had faithfully served for 35 years and in which he was the most prominent preacher. For some time, he, and others in the Baptist Union had been concerned that apostasy from earlier standards might be showing up in the denomination. They were also concerned at the character of the teaching being given in some of the Baptist colleges. After asking the above question, the great soul-winner said, “It now becomes a serious question how far those who abide by the truth once delivered unto the saints should fraternize with those who have turned to another Gospel.”

After much prayer and deliberation I have decided to return my ordination document to you. I can no longer tolerate the idea of being associated with a denomination that openly allows an ideology that promotes disdain for God’s Word, ancient mystic practices, and pagan catholic traditions.
 
 
 
 
Sadly Submitted,
 
Rev. Rick Headley

Update…
Rick Headley This is my first Sunday since I resigned as a Church of the Nazarene Pastor and sent my ordination credentials to the General Superintendant that ordained me. I feel free. There was so much pressure on me as a Pastor to produce numbers and money that the poeple whom I Pastored became a means to an end almost. Today I got to love them and share God’s Word to them as a called minister.
Tim you wouldn’t believe how subtle the emergent indoctrination was on the central Ohio District. They have a mission strategy team that used to be led by a former HR director. We had mandatory round table meetings in which they peddeled the latest fads to gain the numbers and money. Leadership magazine articles were highly regarded as were Dallas Willard books and those of his associates. My desire to succeed in that world nearly crushed me.

The Central Ohio Distirct has now began to put ministerial candidates through a weekend assessment process which involvei all kinds of testing to see if they will allow the candidate to become a licensed minister. This process is not mandated by the Manual. It is the attempt of the district leadership to control the leaders of the local churches at the beginning level of their call to ministry. The brain washing begins at a much earlier point now.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
